College Honors 83 Graduates at Hooding Ceremony

Graduating students are all smiles at the College of Health Professions hooding ceremony on May 19. The college recognized its 83 graduates who were earning master’s and doctoral degrees.

The College of Health Professions (CHP) recognized its 83 graduates earning master’s and doctoral degrees at a May 19 hooding ceremony.

Faculty members from various programs invested the graduates with the academic hoods they would wear around their shoulders at UAMS graduation on May 20.

CHP Dean Douglas L. Murphy explained the origins of the academic hood, which date back to medieval Europe. In modern regalia, the university and specific program are denoted by the color of the hood, while the level of degree is shown in the type of gown worn by the graduates.

Students graduating with Master of Science in Communication Sciences and Disorders, Doctor of Audiology, Master of Science in Clinical Nutrition, Master of Science in Genetic Counseling, Master of Imaging Sciences — Radiologist Assistant and Master of Physician Assistant Studies degrees were invested with hoods.

College of Health Professions Dean Douglas Murphy, Ph.D., explains the origins of the academic hood, which date back to medieval Europe, during the college’s hooding ceremony.

The five students receiving a Doctor of Philosophy in Communication Sciences and Disorders were invested during commencement exercises.

Stephanie Gardner, Pharm.D., Ed.D., senior vice chancellor for academic affairs and provost, praised the graduates for their diligence.

“In his book, Better, author and surgeon Atul Gawande calls diligence one of the most challenging traits to embody, writing that ‘it is a monument to the perfection of performance — to showing what can be achieved by diligent attention to detail combined with great ambition,’” said Gardner.

“All of you have displayed the diligence necessary to succeed on your educational journey and now you are prepared and ready to accomplish great things,” she said.

Also speaking during the ceremony were Lori Williamson Dean, M.S., CGC, chair of the UAMS Department of Genetic Counseling, and Ann Bain, Ed.D, M.S.N, dean for the College of Education and Health Professions at UALR.

Abby Hill Smith, who earned her doctor of audiology, spoke on behalf of the graduates.

The graduates recognized were:

Master of Science — Communication Sciences and Disorders

  • Kayla Adams
  • Aaron Wade Bean
  • Jacob Cazort Cockcroft
  • Lauren Alyssa Crouch
  • Claire Elise Davies
  • Stephanie Elaine Friemel
  • Karishma Gujral
  • Tiffany Lynn Harris
  • Kaina Mickell Hollingsworth
  • Veronica Lagarde
  • Lindsay Nicole Leding
  • Kaitlyn Diane Miller
  • Lauren Mincy
  • Julianna Lee Nix
  • Chelsey Danielle Partain
  • Emily Anne Pierce
  • Suzanne Lynnette Rogers
  • Taylor Russell
  • Madison White

Doctor of Audiology

  • Ahmad A. Alanazi
  • Sarah Holland Benton
  • Mary Elizabeth Crigler
  • Rose M. Dockery
  • Carrie Foley Eaton
  • Elissa Honea
  • Andrea Nicole Knapp
  • Stacey Caitlin Kolb
  • Tessa Alexandra Menchaca
  • Abby Hill Smith
  • Rohan Ashwin Upponi

Doctor of Philosophy — Communication Sciences and Disorders

  • Ahmad A. Alanazi
  • Amy Elizabeth Engelhoven
  • Sarah Emily Warren Kennett
  • Megan Scott
  • Ashlen Thomason

Master of Science — Clinical Nutrition

  • Christi Ann Arthur
  • Morgan Elizabeth Carter
  • Hannah Elizabeth Huff
  • Kathryn Michaele McIntyre
  • Kaila Leigh Parker
  • Lindsay Nicole Queen
  • Taren M. Swindle

Master of Science — Genetic Counseling

  • Andrew H. Bell
  • Samantha Lynn Cassisi
  • Jamie Lynn Fisher
  • Shawn Ashley Gessay
  • Claire C. Hacking
  • Brittany Leigh Henson
  • Caroline Jade Koch

Master of Imaging Sciences — Radiologist Assistant

  • Misty Lynn Carnahan
  • Rolando Martinez Dupree’
  • Angela K. Shah

Master of Physician Assistant Studies

  • Layne Kathryn Britton
  • Alli Kristen Brooks
  • Anne Meredith Brown
  • Kayla Megan Byers
  • Philip Allen Childers
  • Catherine Bess Chumbley
  • Nirja Dipak Desai
  • Courteney Alice Evans
  • Raven Shelby Falls
  • Byron Garth Fulk
  • Jennifer Kay Goodwin
  • Samantha Gray
  • Brittany Lauren Healey
  • Haley Beth Hobson
  • Cassidy Jacobs
  • Tabitha McCool-Jaggers
  • Jesse Klein
  • Ashley Nicole Lunsford
  • Tyler D. McAnally
  • John Tucker McCormick
  • Mallory Melby
  • Rachel Katherine Neal
  • Aaron Jon Parsley
  • Mira Patel
  • Amy Melissa Pintado
  • Emily Ann Rideout
  • Daniel Ring
  • Kenneth Lloyd Spencer, Jr.
  • Rachele Alyse Struthers
  • Sommer Shurae Walker
  • Ryland Elizabeth Walt
  • Wesley S. Wenzel
Archived College News