About the Program

Download the Nuclear Medicine Imaging Sciences Brochure

The nuclear medicine imaging sciences program offers two tracks: a traditional full-time online program with one cohort of 40 students beginning each fall semester and a B.S. degree completion program.  The full-time, traditional program consists of three semesters (fall/spring/summer). The program consists of 80 semester credits of prerequisite course work and 40 credits in the program for a total of 120 credits. Graduates receive a Bachelor of Science in Nuclear Medicine Imaging Sciences. The online B.S. degree completion program is geared toward nuclear medicine technologists who have graduated from an accredited nuclear medicine technology program with an associate’s degree and want to pursue a bachelor’s degree.

The “classroom courses” are conducted via distance education, primarily through the Internet, by faculty at UAMS. Clinical education is conducted at a variety of clinical affiliates in Fayetteville, Jonesboro, Little Rock, Rogers, Springdale, and Texarkana, Arkansas; Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Dallas and Tyler, Texas; Springfield, Missouri; and Tulsa, Oklahoma. The number and location of clinical affiliates may change. Students from these areas are encouraged to apply for admission and if accepted will be able to complete the program from any of these locations that house active affiliates.

The clinical education locations in Arkansas include Arkansas Children’s Hospital, Cardinal Health Nuclear Pharmacy Services (Little Rock, and Springdale), Christus St. Michael Health System, Heart Clinic Arkansas, Highland Oncology Group, John L. McClellan Veterans Hospital, Mercy Hospital of Northwest Arkansas, Northwest Medical Center of Washington County, Red River Pharmacy Services (Jonesboro, Texarkana), St. Bernards Medical Center, St. Vincent Infirmary Medical Center, Texarkana Cardiology Associates, Texarkana P.E.T. Imaging Institute, LP, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Veterans Health Systems of the Ozarks, Wadley Regional Medical Center, and Washington Regional Medical Center.

The clinical education locations for Dallas include Cardinal Health-Nuclear Pharmacy Services, Cardiology Consultants of Texas, Children’s Medical Center of Dallas, P.E.T.-Net Pharmaceutical Services, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas, University of Texas Southwestern Hospital – St. Paul, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center of Dallas – PET and St. Paul, and VA North Texas Healthcare System.

The clinical education locations for Tyler include East Texas Medical Center, NuTech, Inc., and the University of Texas Health Center at Tyler.

The clinical education locations for Springfield include Cardinal Health Nuclear Pharmacy Services, Lester E. Cox Medical Center – Martin Center and Lester E. Cox Medical Center – South, Mercy Hospital Springfield, and Mercy Clinic PET.

The clinical education sites for Baton Rouge are the Baton Rouge General Medical Center (Bluebonnet), Cardinal Health Nuclear Pharmacy Services, Cardiovascular Institute of the South, North Oaks Medical Center (Hammond), and Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center.

The clinical education locations for Tulsa include Cardinal Health Nuclear Pharmacy Services, Saint Francis Hospital, and St. John Health System.