College Celebrates Graduate Degree Recipients

May 16, 2014 | Fifty-four College of Health Professions students receiving graduate or advanced degrees were honored at a May 15 academic hooding ceremony.

During the ceremony, each student received the academic hood they would wear around the shoulders of their commencement gown at UAMS graduation on May 17. Each hood’s colors denoted the program or level of degree.

“This ceremony is part of an academic tradition that marks the transition from novice to colleague,” said Dean Douglas Murphy, Ph.D.

Jaime M. Byrne-McCollum, Ph.D., interim dean for the College of Professional Studies at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR) delivered keynote remarks praising the students’ accomplishments. The College of Health Professions Department of Audiology and Speech Pathology is jointly hosted by UAMS and UALR.

Hoods were invested for students receiving the Master of Science in Communication Sciences and Disorders, the Doctor of Audiology, the Master of Science in Genetic Counseling, the Master of Imaging Sciences – Nuclear Medicine Advanced Associate, and the Master of Imaging Sciences – Radiologist Assistant degrees. Hoods for the Doctor of Philosophy in Communication Sciences and Disorders were invested during the UAMS commencement.

The graduates recognized during the ceremony included:

Master of Science – Communication Sciences and Disorders


A student receives her academic hood during the College of Health Professions Hooding Ceremony on May 15.


A student poses for a photo following the ceremony.

  • Lynley Brooks
  • Kassidy Jordan Cramblett
  • Mallory R. Day
  • Matthew Garner
  • Allison Michelle Gibbs
  • Cortney D. Greer
  • Bethanie Anne Johnson
  • Claire Elizabeth Kitzmiller
  • Lacy Elizabeth Lewis
  • Jennifer Maddox
  • Meagan Danielle Pestel
  • Kaylee Beth Pickle
  • Chelsy Lynn Roberts
  • Lillian Jennings Seay
  • Cara Elizabeth Sills
  • Alyssa Staton
  • Andrew R. Swayne
  • Bethany Snow Woolverton
  • Whitney Wooten
  • Heather Margaret Wright

Doctor of Audiology

  • Raven Elizabeth Brasseux
  • Korrine Elise Cook
  • Erin Elizabeth Dawson
  • Elyssa Jean Doom-Washburn
  • Charia Antoinesia Hall
  • Sarah Emily Warren Kennett
  • Stephanie Ann Machen
  • Carlos Pedro Minaya
  • Michael Joshua Spann

Doctor of Philosophy — Communication Sciences and Disorders

  • Sharon J. Jones
  • Chenell Smith Loudermill
  • Andrea Toliver-Smith

Master of Science — Clinical Nutrition

  • Molly Bowdon
  • Allison L. Brite-Lane
  • Amber Colvin
  • Elizabeth Drake
  • Avigael Rhodes Hereford
  • Rebecca S. Newton
  • Julie Brooke Schwilling
  • Jody Beth Wells

Master of Science — Genetic Counseling

  • Katelyn Faye Beattie
  • Emily Catherine Boothe
  • Devin Marie Cox
  • Shirelle Figueroa
  • Jennifer R. Leonhard
  • Nicole L. Pederson

Master of Imaging Sciences — Nuclear Medicine Advanced Associate

  • Teresa Ellmer Buckley
  • Justin T. Jacob
  • Todd Marshall Thompson
  • Krystle Leigh Worthington

Master of Imaging Sciences — Radiologist Assistant

  • Adam Matthew Finch
  • Diane Renee Forbes
  • Derek Wayne Habetz
  • Heidi Jenee Matthews