Beth Butler Eaton Endowed Scholarship

Eligible: New Speech-Language Pathology students

Background and Purpose

The Beth Butler Eaton Endowed Scholarship was established for speech-language pathology graduate students in the Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD) Master of Science program. Mrs. Eaton is an ASHA Fellow and former faculty member and Clinic Coordinator in the Audiology and Speech Pathology Department. She founded the Preschool Language Enrichment Program (PLEP) and was a LEND Speech-Language Pathology Discipline Coordinator.  She is a dedicated professional who practiced interprofessional education and established outreach programs in medical deserts in the United States and other countries. She initiated a relationship with Scottish Rite, which funded PLEP Scholarships for young children and graduate students for many years.  The scholarship will be awarded annually to an outstanding first year speech language pathology student who demonstrates professionalism, academic excellence and leadership.

Award Amount and Timing

Subject to the availability of funds, the total annual award is $2,000 to selected student(s).  Scholarship award is as follows: $1,000 each semester, fall and spring enrollments.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligibility is based on admission to the CSD Master of Science program, leadership, academic excellence, community involvement and diversity (i.e., geographic, ethnic, socioeconomic), undergraduate CSD degree from UA-Little Rock or completion of UA-Little Rock post baccalaureate program.

Applicants must demonstrate the following attributes:

  1. Undergraduate CSD degree from UA-Little Rock or completion of post -Bac program at UA-Little Rock
  2. Academic achievement
  3. Community and extracurricular involvement
  4. Leadership
  5. Previous or current participation in National Student Speech-Language-Hearing Association (NSSLHA).
  6. Accepted by or enrolled as a 1st year full-time graduate degree seeking student in Speech-Language Pathology.