D&N Student Achievements

Clinical nutrition student is “people’s choice”

Taren SwindleTaren Swindle, master of science student in clinical nutrition, was the winner of the People’s Choice Award at the UAMS Graduate School’s semi-final 3MT Competition on March 28. Her presentation, “A Qualitative Exploration of Organizational Facilitators and Barriers to Mealtime and Nutrition Promotion Practices of Early Childhood Educators,” was selected for the award by audience members attending the competition. Josh Phelps, assistant professor in the College of Health Profession’s Department of Dietetics and Nutrition, was Taren’s project advisor, and Reza Hakkak, department chair, and Tina Crook, director of the Dietetics Internship program, served on her project committee. Congratulations to Taren, Josh, Reza, and Tina.

Taren is assistant professor in the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine. She was able to pursue her master’s degree in clinical nutrition with the support of a KL2 grant through UAMS’s Translational Research Institute. Her research focuses on preventing obesity and promoting good nutrition for young children in low-income families. She is interested in increasing the adoption of evidence-based practice and interventions in community settings to reduce obesity and improve nutrition.

Dietetics student wins state award

Millicent NowakAt last week’s meeting of the Arkansas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Millicent Nowak, student in the College of Health Professions’ Dietetics Internship program, was selected as the Arkansas Outstanding Dietetics Student for 2017. Each year, only one student in each state in the U.S. is selected for the award. The purpose of the award is to recognize the emerging leadership and achievement of dietetics students. Awards recipients are selected based on their academic achievement, demonstrated leadership, and professional potential. “Millie” graduated from Louisiana State University and is from Pensacola, Florida.For five of the six years since 2012, UAMS students have have been selected for the Arkansas Outstanding Dietetics Student award:

  • 2012 – Amy Berry
  • 2013 – Leigh Delavan
  • 2014 – Courtney Byrum
  • 2015 – Juanita Montelongo
  • 2017 – Millicent Nowak

Congratulations, Millie, and to program director Tina Crook, and department chair, Reza Hakkak.