CoARC Awards

CoARC Award - Erna BooneJuly 25, 2014 | On July 15, 2014 the UAMS College of Health Profession’s Respiratory Care program was awarded the “Distinguished Registered Respiratory Therapist Credentialing Success” Award.  The event happened at the AARC (American Association for Respiratory Care) Summer Forum in Marco Island, Florida.  There to accept the award on behalf of the Respiratory Program here at UAMS was Program Director, Dr. Erna Boone, Dr.P.H., R.R.T., F.A.A.R.C.  Several other faculty members attended the educational meeting including Tom Jones, Heather Neal-Rice (Arkansas Delegate to the AARC House of Delegates), Janie Castro-Rios (Consortium partner from ASU Mountain Home), and Theresa Gramlich, who made an invited presentation entitled “Using Clinical Simulations to Help Students Identify and Troubleshoot Airway Emergencies” on Wednesday morning.

Forty-nine programs received the award (the largest number ever), representing approximately 10% of all respiratory care educational programs in the United States. Pictured with Dr. Boone is Dr. Kathy Rye who is the current President of CoARC (Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care Education).  Dr. Rye is also a UAMS Emerita Professor, having served our Respiratory Care program as the Director of Clinical Education from 1993 to 2012.

Congratulations to everyone in the Respiratory Care program who has worked so hard to help the program achieve this!  Keep up the great work!