Ann Bowers Hurst Scholarship

Eligible: Continuing Dental Hygiene Students Only

Background and Purpose

The Ann Bowers Hurst Scholarship was established in 2012 through the Hot Springs Village Community Foundation by the estate of Mrs. Edith Bowers, in memory of Mrs. Bowers’ daughter, Mrs. Ann Bowers Hurst. A 1973 graduate of the dental hygiene program, Mrs. Hurst served as a dental hygienist in Little Rock for 34 years. She remained dedicated to the dental hygiene profession until her death in 2008.

Award Amount and Timing

Subject to the availability of funds, the total annual award is to be determined to selected student(s).  Scholarship award is as follows: the full amount of the award will be awarded in the spring semester.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Currently enrolled rising senior student who will be enrolled on a full-time basis during the subsequent academic year.
  2. A minimum of a 3.0 program grade point average (pGPA).
  3. Documented Financial Need – All students applying for scholarships must apply for financial aid.  Students are not required to accept awarded loans, but in order to generate the aid report required that officially documents financial need, a completed FAFSA is required.  Please see the Student Financial Services website for more information.