Dr. and Mrs. W.R. Brooksher, Jr. Endowed Scholarship

Eligible: Continuing Radiologic Imaging Sciences Students Only

Background and Purpose

In 1958, the Arkansas Medical Society Alliance established this scholarship in honor of Dr. and Mrs. W.R. Brooksher, Jr. to aid students training as medical technologist, x-ray technicians, physical therapists, occupational therapists, and medical social workers. Dr. Brooksher was a pioneer in the use of x-ray technology in Fort Smith, Arkansas. Endowed by the Arkansas Medical Society Alliance in 2009, the scholarship is awarded annually to an outstanding student in Radiologic Imaging Sciences.

Award Amount and Timing

Subject to the availability of funds the total annual award is $1,000 to the selected student(s).  Scholarship award is as follows: $500 per semester, fall and spring semester enrollment.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Arkansas Resident enrolled in the Division of Radiologic Imaging Sciences (RIS).
  2. Applicant must be in good standing in the Radiologic Imaging Sciences program having completed at least one complete academic year prior to receiving the award. An approved degree plan for the Bachelor of Science program must be on file in the RIS department.
  3. A minimum cumulative grade point average (cGPA) of 3.0 as calculated for all professional courses completed during the time in the program.
  4. Documented Financial Need – All students applying for scholarships must apply for financial aid.  Students are not required to accept awarded loans, but in order to generate the aid report required that officially documents financial need, a completed FAFSA is required.  Please see the Student Financial Services website for more information.


  1. Two references are required, of which at least one must be from a faculty member in the Division of Radiologic Imaging Sciences, excluding the Division Director.  The second reference must be a clinical preceptor. Relatives cannot not be used as references.