UAMS Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee

Duties and Responsibilities

The Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee is a group of university and community members who are willing to donate their time, talent and resources to assist in developing the program and serving as advocates for Dental Hygiene education and the profession. Responsibilities of the board include:

  1. Provide insight and recommend changes to the program with regard to issues and changes in the political, legislative, and professional environment in the state.
  2. Advocate for the Dental Hygiene Program relative to its mission, goals and strategic plan.
  3. Provide valuable contacts for faculty and students within the dental community and university community as they pursue their professional goals.
  4. Encourage exceptional students in the community who are interested in dental hygiene to consider applying for the Dental Hygiene Program.
  5. Serve as a liaison between the Dental Hygiene Program and community in order to promote manual understanding and cooperation.
  6. Advocate for the Dental Hygiene Program in order to increase awareness of dental hygiene education and the Dental Hygiene profession.

Advisory committee board member should meet the following criteria:

  • Be connected with the dental profession in some capacity and be familiar with the dental community in the area of the program.
  • Possess a genuine interest in and commitment to the dental hygiene program.
  • Have necessary time, inclination and motivation to devote to the function of the committee and the dental hygiene program.
  • Be available to attend meeting once or twice a year.

The Board shall consist of nine members, three dentists and six dental hygienists. Members shall be comprised of community and university members invited by the Chair of the Department. The Chair and faculty will serve as ex-officio members of the board. Qualifications for members should include a desire to participate in the development and the advancement of the program and possess the experience and background to contribute actively to the board. Meetings will be held once or twice annually.

Advisory Committee Members – 2023-2024

  • Addyson Hipps, RDH, Co-Chair
  • Jason Harper, RDH, Co-Chair
  • Joseph Barker, DDS
  • Daniel Lieblong, DDS
  • Werner Schneider, DDS
  • Donna Bailey, RDH
  • Jamie Pounders, RDH
  • Richard Robinson, RDH
  • Kelsey Sutton, RDH